Skip to content

Balsamic Salad Dressing

Sunday, October 16, 2016

I recently went to my doctor for one thing, and several other issues were discovered. Among these was the possibility of diabetes. (After a summer off, staying away from the gym and overindulging in rich food and drink, this wasn’t really a surprise.) I was concerned enough that I’m back to the gym for at least an hour in the pool every weekday, and I started eating like a diabetic. Low carbs, fish and chicken, a little fruit and lots of veggies and in a two-week span my numbers (including cholesterol) have never been better. So fortunately for me my doctor backed off of her diagnosis, but I’ve decided that this is a good way for me to eat — especially as I quickly approach 65.

Here’s a salad dressing that fits into my plan.

Ingredients:

4 heaping tablespoons of your favorite hummus (store bought or homemade)
1/3 cup balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon mashed roasted garlic
1 teaspoon fresh cilantro, finely minced
salt and pepper to taste
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice

Directions:

Whisk together until blended. Pour into a bottle and refrigerate.

_______________

Based on the recipe at Vegan American Princess.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

