Skip to content

A Kiss Goodnight

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Melinda was  exhausted last night and she went to bed early-ish and fell asleep almost instantly. Hey – she’s on staycation this week, so she can do what she wants! But I was still awake. I watched a little TV, then read for awhile. I decided to have a nightcap, and I’m into new (to me anyway) beverages, so I looked in the bar and made up a drink that I’m calling A Kiss Goodnight. I see in various bar guides that this name has already been used, but I’m sticking with it. I think mine is better!

  • 2 ounces Korbel Brandy
  • 1/2 ounce Grand Marnier
  • 2-3 dashes Regan’s Orange Bitters No. 6
  • 5 ice cubes
  • Myer lemon peel twist

Put ice cubes in mixing glass, add brandy, Grand Marnier and bitters. Gently stir for 40 seconds. Put lemon twist in cocktail glass, strain drink into glass.

NOTES:

  • All these ingredients are negotiable; they’re what I had in my bar late last night. 🙂
  • You want this to be cold and just a little diluted, so the water from the ice helps to combine the ingredients as you stir. This is not a shaken drink.
  • I think this would be good as a warmed brandy drink too. Melinda likes those.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

